Public Service Pride Awards

The 2023 Call for Nomination period will be from February 20 to April 12.

Past Award Winners

2022 Public Service Pride Awards

David Beamer, Canada Revenue Agency
Dr. Holly Ellingwood, Public Safety Canada
Lee Nevens, Justice Canada
Lydia Lipic, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Jefferson Morris IV, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Pride Network Award

Defense Team Pride Advisory Organization, Department of National Defense and Canadian Armed Forces

Workplace Pride Initiative of the Year Award

Directive on Inclusive Sanitary Facility Design, Parks Canada

Career Impact Award

Missy Marston-Shmelzer, Canadian Heritage

Pioneer Award

Michelle Douglas, LGBT Purge Fund

2021 Public Service Pride Awards

David Da Silva, Global Affairs Canada
Johanne Charest, Canada Border Services Agency
Teresa Joudrie, Indigenous Services Canada
Taryn Husband, Global Affairs Canada 
Tamara Lopez, Canada Border Services Agency
Richard Hansen, Canada Revenue Agency

Pride Network Award

Gender and Sexual Diversity Inclusiveness Network, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Workplace Pride Initiative of the Year Award

Universally Accessible Washrooms in Terrasses de la Chaudière Complex
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, Indigenous Services Canada, Canadian Heritage

Career Impact Award

Artur Wilczynski, Communications Security Establishment
Guy Desaulniers, Public Service Commission

Public Service Pride Awards Categories

Agent of Change Award

An award for advocates and leaders who are initiating and driving action to remove systemic barriers and advance the inclusion and integration of 2SLGBTQIA+ communities in the federal public service. This action-oriented individual is amplifying the voices of 2SLGBTQIA+ communities within their department/agency or across the federal family. This individual’s actions will have led to a marked improvement in their workplace.

Pride Network of the Year Award

An award to a departmental or agency pride network that stood out over the course of the year through its work in advancing 2SLGBTQIA+ inclusion across their department or agency.

Workplace Pride Initiative of the Year Award

An award for a novel workplace policy, plan, event or activity that has demonstrated benefit for 2SLGBTQIA+ inclusion in the workplace.

Career Impact Award

An award that recognizes individuals who have made a lasting impact during their career. This individual’s long-standing and active support of 2SLGBTQIA+ communities within the federal public service will have had a cumulative and substantial impact.

Follow us on Twitter for updates